Des fleurs @ Parc du Thabor

The spring of 2008 was a pretty one, and this was particularly true of le parc du Thabor. When I moved to Rennes on the 28th of December 2007, I wasn’t quite chirpy. The city hadn’t disappointed, for it had the classic European Christmas postcard look I grew up with as a child. But I soon discovered to my dismay that receiving a winter postcard and being in a winter postcard were two very different experiences.

Though I wasn’t really a tourist, the first thing I did, once settled, was to browse the Rough Guides for Rennes. Rennes is a little city, the capital of Brittany, to the north west of France. The region of Brittany is pretty and was quite popular with the French artists during the impressionist age – including Paul Gauguin, Van Gogh’s beloved friend turned foe! Rennes wasn’t exactly loaded with tourist attractions, but Le parc du Thabor was listed and I thought it must be worth a visit.

I was all excited. My French adventure was going to begin, even if it was with the little garden in my backyard! The enthusiasm didn’t last for very long, as the only things that stood tall in the botanical gardens of Thabor were the name plates for plants. In French. It was winter. What was I thinking? It was France, not wonderland!

I did of course go back in spring and it was of course fabuleux!

Allium

Allium

Mur Mahal

Mur Mahal

Lamnathes

Lamnathes

Rose

Rose

Pasta Flower !

Pasta Flower !

Nemophila

Nemophila

10 thoughts on “Des fleurs @ Parc du Thabor

  1. So you can write ‘classical’ as well as ‘mod’!. This is music to the ears – and to the eyes too! Nice to see again some of those beautiful France pics. Perhaps you could have put some winter scenes too!

  2. I wanted to post some pics of Thabour and so wrote the blog around it :) But now it does seem the other way around doesn’t it ? May be I shall update it with a winter picture :)

Leave a Reply

