A Fake Smile

Do you ever wonder
Why people talk to you
Do you ever wonder
When a fake smile passes through

You do not like their attitude
They do not like your face
And yet to pick the phone and ask
‘How was your day today?’

Right things for wrong reasons
Is how we live our lives
Wrong things for right reasons
Can’t possibly survive

I cannot fake another smile
I cannot live a lie
They say you’d be a lonely soul
Alone is how you’d die

I ask you if I’m lonely
And need someone’s care and love
Will a fake smile buy me comfort
Is my heart so easily swayed

I cannot tell the future
And I’m not worldly wise
But a present full of fake smiles
Is not for me tonight

4 thoughts on “A Fake Smile

Leave a Reply

